Christchurch School of Music


Update: No scholarships will be awarded in 2021 for the 2022 year. The CSM Support Trust has, instead, decided to contribute the funds used for scholarships to support families affected by Covid 19.

Each year the CSM offers a number of scholarships in conjunction with the Christchurch School of Music Support Trust.

Scholarships are awarded on the basis of an audition.  Auditions will be held in a supportive, low key environment to ensure that students are able to perform to the best of their ability.  Every attempt will be made to ensure that the audition process is an enjoyable experience.

However due to Covid-19 restrictions and the need to reschedule many events within CSM we have decided not to award scholarships in 2021 for the 2022 year.  Scholarships will return at the end of 2022 for the 2023 year.


Scholarships are only available to current CSM students except for the Music Education Canterbury Scholarship and the John and Janet Emeleus scholarship

Students awarded a Scholarship in one year are not eligible to apply for scholarships in the following year.

Students must be available to audition on the selected date and all successful scholarship winners are expected to perform in the Scholarship Concert held in November

Scholarships may not be awarded if no suitable candidates apply.

The following scholarships are open to all students currently enrolled at CSM

Scholarships available ONLY to students not currently enrolled at CSM

  • The CSM Support Trust Janet and John Emeleus Annual Scholarship

    $200 towards CSM fees.

    This scholarship was established as a result of a generous donation from the CSM Patron John Emeleus and is used to enable a new student to enrol at the CSM who has a passion for music.

    Not awarded in 2020

  • Music Education Canterbury Scholarship

    $290 towards CSM fees.

    A scholarship generously offered by Music Education Canterbury to enable a student not currently enrolled at CSM to participate in an ensemble.

    2020 recipient: Mila Yin, Cello