Christchurch School of Music


The governance of the school is vested in a Council, which is made up of members elected at the Annual General Meeting. The Council consists of a president, an immediate past-president (if relevant), a vice-president, a treasurer, a secretary one staff representative and general members. Others can be co-opted when needed for specific purposes.

The CSM is an incorporated society and, as such, has a set of rules (constitution) it abides by.

It is a not-for-profit organisation with charitable status.

Members of the Council 2020-2021

President: Pru Steven

Immediate past president: Robyn Nuthall

Vice–president: Sally Page

Secretary: Helen Powell

Treasurer: Tom Rainey

Staff representative: Janet Simon


Hamish Peddie

Tony Ryan